## Honours to OMPI at the 2007 AAPM Conference

Monday, July 23, 2007

Four current or previous members of OMPI were named Fellows of the AAPM (American Association of Physicists in Medicine) at a ceremony at the AAPM annual meeting in Minneapolis on Monday July 23, 2007. The AAPM has a membership of 5000, and a total of only 22 new Fellows were named this year. The current members of OMPI named Fellows were Joanna Cygler of the Ottawa Cancer Centre and Ken Shortt at the IAEA on leave from NRC. Past members who became Fellows are Bruce Faddegon of UCSF, who received his PhD from Carleton in 1990 and worked as an RA at NRC for several years, and Jan Seuntjens of McGill University who worked at NRC from 1995 to 1999. These four join two current members of OMPI who are already AAPM Fellows, Dave Rogers (1997) and Brenda Clark (2005), and one other former member, Charlie Ma of Fox Chase Cancer Center (2005) who worked as an RA at NRC from 1993 to 1996.

## Congratulations to Dan La Russa and Dave Rogers who won the prestigious 2007 Farrington Daniels Award

Sunday, July 1, 2007

Dan La Russa and Dave Rogers won the prestigious 2007 Farrington Daniels Award from the AAPM for the best paper in radiation dosimetry published in the journal Medical Physics in 2006. The paper is titled "An EGSnrc investigation of the PTP correction factor for ion chambers in kilovoltage x rays", Med. Phys. 33, 4590-4599 (2006). This is the fourth time that Rogers and his students have won this award and the seventh time that an Ottawa researcher has won the award.